article featured image background
Article preview

NFL Offensive Player of the Year: 2023 Odds for Ja’Marr Chase, Justin Jefferson and Christian McCaffrey

NFL Bets

The 2023 NFL OPOY Odds are open for betting. The top non-QBs in the league once again have the best odds, including Ja’Marr Chase, Justin Jefferson and Christian McCaffrey.

FTN Bets is here to guide you through the latest odds, picks, and how to think through your NFL Offensive Player of the Year odds bets.


Odds to Win 2023 NFL Offensive Player of the Year (OPOY)

Ja’Marr Chase is the favorite to win 2023-2024 OPOY award at +1200. That means a $10 bet will pay out $130 for a profit of $120. These odds give Chase a 7.7% chance of winning Offensive Player of the Year.

See All the Live Odds Here


Other Notable Bets to Consider

  • Christian McCaffrey was a dominant force for the San Francisco 49ers after his trade. In just 11 games in San Francisco, McCaffrey had 159 carries for 746 yards. He averaged 4.7 yards per carry and scored 6 touchdowns on the ground. He also caught 52 passes for 464 more yards and 2 more touchdowns. With a full training camp under his belt and a full 17 games, McCaffrey could flirt with 2,000 scrimmage yards this season. 
  • Justin Jefferson had 88 catches for 1,400 yards as a rookie in 2020. In 2021 he caught 20 more balls for 216 more yards than in 2020. Last season he again jumped up by another 20 catches and about 200 yards to finish the season with a receiving line of 128/1,809/8. If he takes another step forward this year, we could be looking at 140 catches for 2,000 yards and double-digit touchdowns. 
  • Cooper Kupp won the receiving triple crown in 2021, but injuries cut short his 2022 season. Kupp is currently sitting at +2200 on DraftKings. If he can regain that dominant 2021 form, that number is going to drop quickly. 

NFL OPOY Odds Movement in 2023

  • May 24, 2023: Justin Jefferson, Ja’Marr Chase and Christian McCaffrey have all seen their odds drop on many sportsbooks since these numbers were first listed. I would expect at least one, if not all of them to be at or below 10-1 on every book by the start of the 2023 NFL season. 

QB Odds

The way voting has worked in most recent years is that the MVP award has become one for quarterbacks, while the Offensive Player of the Year award has tended to go to the best skill position player at RB or WR. That could change if a non-QB wins MVP in 2023. If so, here are some of the best QB odds for NFL Offensive Player of the Year. 

Of these QB longshots, Justin Fields is the most interesting to me. He had a horrible stable of receivers last season. Injuries made an already bad group look even worse. The Bears addressed the problem during and after the season. A full training camp with his new weapons should help improve the passing game. Add improved passing numbers to the 1,143 rushing yards and 9 touchdowns he scored in 2022 and you might be looking at the most dynamic weapon in the NFL this season. 


History of NFL OPOY Winners

Here are the last nine NFL OPOY winners:

Year Player Position Team
2014 DeMarco Murray RB Dallas Cowboys
2015 Cam Newton QB Carolina Panthers
2016 Matt Ryan QB Atlanta Falcons
2017 Todd Gurley RB Los Angeles Rams
2018 Patrick Mahomes QB Kansas City Chiefs
2019 Michael Thomas WR New Orleans Saints
2020 Derrick Henry RB Tennessee Titans
2021 Cooper Kupp WR Los Angeles Rams
2022 Justin Jefferson WR Minnesota Vikings

No QB has won the award since Patrick Mahomes in 2018. Mahomes and Cam Newton both won the OPOY award the same year they won the MVP. Since 2019, the awards have been split and that is likely to continue moving forward. 

Previous NFL Defensive Player of the Year: 2023 Odds for Micah Parsons, Myles Garrett and T.J. Watt Next Best MLB Bets Today – Free (Saturday 6/3)